Sunshine and fun times at 34th B.C. Historic Motor Races

Photos: Brent Martin

Sunshine and fun times at 34th B.C. Historic Motor Races

Vintage Racing

Sunshine and fun times at 34th B.C. Historic Motor Races


The 34th running of the “Titanium Ford” B.C. Historic Motor Races (BCHMR) took place under fantastic weather conditions last weekend at the Speed-Fanatics Motorsports Circuit, Mission Raceway Park in Mission B.C. Vintage racers from B.C. and Washington State came together for the two-day event (May 13-14, 2023) put on by the Vintage Racing Club of B.C. (VRCBC).

Four race groups filled the schedule this year consisting of Group A (Fast Cars, pre 1980), Group B (Faster Cars, pre 1980), Group C (Vintage cars from 1980-1998) and an Open Wheel/Sports Car group.

The BCHMR featured exciting racing amongst all of the groups and divisions. Group A had four races with Paul Haym taking home the first win in his 1969 BMW 2002. Stephen Newby snatched wins in races two and three in his 1959 Austin Healy Sprite while Byron Meston took home the final class win in his 1969 Datsun 510.

Group B also had four races with Don Benson topping the podium in his 1974 Porsche RS with Brett Payne (1972 Porsche RSR) close behind. Races two and three were won by Payne and Benson finishing P2. Pat Hall from took home the final Group B win behind the wheel of his 1972 Datsun 240z.

The Group C race one winner was Brad Zimmerman in his beautiful 1995 Nissan 240SX, and the final three races in were all won by Georges Kreuzkamp in his reliable 1990 Acura Integra. The final race of the weekend for the combined group A, B, and C cars was won by Brett Payne, followed by Georges Kreuzkamp and Pat Hall.

The Open Wheel/Sports Racer group had five races over the weekend with Erle Archer from West Kelowna B.C. taking a clean sweep winning all five in his 1967 Lotus S3. A few highlights of the open wheel group included the first outing of Doug Seal and his 1967 Lotus type 41 and Leigh Manyk bringing out his 1963 Lotus 23B sports racer.

Once again this year, several SOVREN (Society of Vintage Racing Enthusiasts from nearby Washington State made the trek to battle for double SOVREN points and enjoy some great Canadian hospitality. This year the SOVREN Canada Cup was presented to Frank DiMiceli from Renton Washington who came north with his 1990 Mazda Miata and was recognized for his enthusiasm for vintage racing. The Northwestern club racers had nothing but great things to say about the even and many were planning on coming back in the future in the hopes of bringing more SOVREN members with them.

The other trophies for the weekend were the Pete Lovely Memorial Award for the best prepared car of the weekend. This year’s recipient was Rich Newman from Tacoma, Wash. in his 1960 Austin Healey Sebring Sprite. The SCCBC award for spirited driving was presented this year to Stephen Newby and his 1959 Austin Healey Sprite. The final award for the weekend was the Chairman’s award that was presented by event chairperson Gayle Baird to Byron Meston in his #510 1969 Datsun 510. (Gayle as usual did double duty during the weekend racing both her 1991 Honda Civic and 1964 Formula Vee).

At the end of the weekend brought smiles and hugs and conversations about returning next year for the 35th running of this unique event.

For information about the VRCBC, including details about the 2024 B.C. Historic Motor Races, click HERE.

More Vintage Motorsport