Masters Historic Racing adds new Trophy Series for GT4, Challenge and Cup cars

Masters Historic Racing

Masters Historic Racing adds new Trophy Series for GT4, Challenge and Cup cars


Masters Historic Racing adds new Trophy Series for GT4, Challenge and Cup cars


The popular Masters Endurance Legends series will have a new “baby brother” in 2023, promoters Masters Historic Racing (MHR) releasing details of a new Masters GT Trophy for 2007-2018 ‘modern historic’ GT4 and one-make Cup, Trophy and Challenge cars. The new series will feature a six-round European calendar that includes three events in the UK and three on the Continent.

The one-off Masters GT4 Trophy at Classic 2022, run in association with SRO Motorsports, was held to test the waters, and there was a great response from the two races at Silverstone from existing competitors as well as new teams and drivers. Thus the Masters GT Trophy was born, MHR introducing a new series for GT4 cars outside the current homologation as well as former one-make Cup, Challenge and Trophy cars that over the years have appeared in various one-make manufacturer series.

The new series’ class structure will feature three different year groups (2007-2011, 2012-2014 and 2015-2018) further divided into three classes, Corse, Cup and GT4:

GT4 class: Eligible cars include the whole range of GT4 cars from the category’s inception in 2007, including the Aston Martin V8 Vantage GT4, BMW’s M3 and M4 GT4, Audi R8 LMS GT4, Corvette C6 GT4, Ford Mustang GT4, Ginetta’s G50 and G55, KTM X-Bow, Lotus Evora, Maserati GranTurismo MC GT4, Mercedes AMG GT4, McLaren 570 GT4, Nissan’s 350Z and 370Z, Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport Competition and others.

Corse class: Eligible cars include Ferrari’s 430 and 458 Challenge, Lamborghini Gallardo LP 570-4 Super Trofeo Stradale and Huracán LP 620-2 Super Trofeo.

Cup class: Largely for Porsche Cup cars, including the 997, 997.1, 991 and 991.2 iterations of the 911 GT3 Cup.

For this first season, races will be run nationally to negate the need for international race licenses and enable organizers to gauge interest in the grid in the four different countries, Great Britain, Holland, Belgium and Portugal.

A single qualifying session followed by two races during the weekend of varying durations will be trialled during the 2023 season.

The 2023 schedule:

* April 7-8 Donington (GB)
* May 27-28 Brands Hatch (GB)
* June 16-18 Zandvoort (Holland)
* Aug. 25-27 Silverstone (GB)
* Sept. 27-Oct. 1 Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium)
* Oct. 27-29 Portimão (Portugal)

Race entries will open in late January 2023.

For more information, click HERE.

More Vintage Motorsport