Nine drivers crowned in milestone Masters Historic 2022 UK/Europe tour

Masters Historic Racing

Nine drivers crowned in milestone Masters Historic 2022 UK/Europe tour


Nine drivers crowned in milestone Masters Historic 2022 UK/Europe tour


In a season of outstanding races and charged rivalries in almost every series, nine drivers were crowned champions of the 2022 UK and European Masters Historics Tour.

From the April start at Barcelona through to the season finale at Portimao, 2022 was a season brimming with close competition, and almost every title was still up for grabs in the Algarve Classic Festival. Remarkably, in one case the title decider failed to decide anything at all as a tie was declared—creating even more champions!

The Masters Historic Racing team extends warm congratulations and its thanks to all who contributed to a milestone series—a fantastic season celebrating the cars, teams and hundreds of unique stories from the world of historic motor racing.

Masters Racing Legends

In the Masters Racing Legends series for 1966-’85 Formula 1 cars, Steve Hartley (McLaren MP4/1) wrapped up the Post-78 championship in the penultimate round at Spa. Patrick d’Aubreby (March 761) and Jonathan Holtzman (Tyrrell P34), though, came to Portimão tied on points for the Pre-78 title, the Frenchman winning both races to be crowned the 2022 class champion. James Davison (Hill GH1) took a distant third.

In the first four rounds, Hartley took at least one win each weekend to build a Post-78 lead that proved unassailable despite the efforts of rivals Marco Werner (Lotus 87B and 91) and Steve Brooks (Lotus 81 and 91). One more win at the Nürburgring was added to Hartley’s final tally of six victories, with additional points scored putting the Briton further out of reach.

Head & Lauda Classes (Post-78)

1st: Steve Hartley (McLaren MP4/1)

2nd: Marco Werner (Lotus 87B & 91)

3rd: Steve Brooks (Lotus 81 & 91)

Stewart & Fittipaldi Classes (Pre-78)

1st: Patrick d’Aubreby (March 761)

2nd: Jonathan Holtzman (Tyrrell P34)

3rd: James Davison (Hill GH1)

Masters Endurance Legends

The fight for the Masters Endurance Legends prototype title boiled down to a straight fight between three Ligier P3 class drivers—the Stephan Joebstl/Andy Willis pairing and Ron Maydon. With Maydon taking two class wins at Portimão, seconded by Craig Davies, the three rivals ended up equal on points, all having racked up numerous wins over the season. As the regulations state that the respective age of the cars is the decider in case of a dead-hear situation, with the older type prevailing, the championship was declared a tie, as all three have been using the exact same type of car, a Ligier-Nissan JSP3.

By virtue of a similar gaggle of class wins, this time in P2, Stuart Wiltshire (Ligier-Judd JSP2) took a close third in the championship.

The GT title in Masters Endurance Legends was among the few settled before the final round. In fact, Jason Wright (Ferrari 458 GT3) managed to accrue almost double the amount of the points of his nearest competitors, led by Swiss series rookie Andy Feigenwinter (Porsche 997 GT3) and Christopher Compton-Goddard (Ferrari 430 GTC).


Joint 1st: Andy Willis & Stephan Joebstl (Ligier-Nissan JSP3)

Joint 1st: Ron Maydon (Ligier-Nissan JSP3)

3rd: Stuart Wiltshire (Ligier-Judd JSP2)


1st: Jason Wright (Ferrari 458 GT3)

2nd: Andy Feigenwinter (Porsche 997 GT3)

3rd: Chris Compton-Goddard (Ferrari 430 GTC)

Masters Sports Car Legends

The Masters Sports Car Legends title fight looked set for a royal battle in the Portugal finale between Tom Bradshaw (Chevron B19) and Andy Willis (in Stephan Joebstl’s Lola T212), but the former’s challenge faded early on, allowing Willis to take the championship from the man with the most wins.

By winning the final race while sharing Jason Wright’s Lola T70 Mk3B with Andy Wolfe, Julian Thomas (who did the other rounds in his own Chevron B8) drew level with Bradshaw for a joint second place in the championship.

In the series’ separate Pre-66 championship, John Spiers (for whom both Nigel Greensall and Ollie Hancock served as co-drivers over the season) had the title in the bag after the penultimate round at Spa, his McLaren M1B proving to be invincible in almost every race he entered. Adding to four of Spiers’ five wins, Greensall himself did enough to be second in the title hunt.

Former champions Chris Jolly and Steve Farthing (Cooper Monaco T61M) were their staunchest rivals and came away with third in the championship.


1st: Andy Willis (Lola T212)

Joint 2nd: Tom Bradshaw (Chevron B19)

Joint 2nd: Julian Thomas (Chevron B8)

Pre-66 Hulme Class

1st & 2nd: John Spiers & Nigel Greensall (McLaren M1B)

3rd: Chris Jolly & Steve Farthing (Cooper Monaco T61M)

Masters Gentlemen Drivers

The Masters Gentlemen Drivers title chase was yet another tense affair, as three drivers were still in with a shout going into the final round at Portimão. By virtue of a solo victory at the International Trophy round at Silverstone early in the year, Robin Ward would always stay ahead of his co-driver Ron Maydon, as they again teamed up in their Ginetta G4R, but a strong result for the pair could lead to Maydon snatching second or third in the championship.

Meanwhile, Julian Thomas and Calum Lockie had done a lot of winning over the season in their Shelby Cobra Daytona Coupé but in the Algarve, they would hedge their bets, as Thomas teamed up with Robin Ellis in the Lotus Elan Shapecraft while Lockie joined Simon Orebi Gann in a Morgan Plus 4 Super Sports.

In the end, Ward/Maydon finished third in their class, as did Lockie, with Thomas recording a fourth place in class. This meant that Ward clinched it from Lockie, with Maydon and Thomas ending up a joint third.

Masters Gentlemen Drivers

1st: Robin Ward (Ginetta G4R)

2nd: Calum Lockie (Shelby Cobra Daytona Coupé)

Joint 3rd: Ron Maydon (Ginetta G4R)

Joint 3rd: Julian Thomas (Shelby Cobra Daytona Coupé)

Masters Pre-66 Touring Cars

Bizarrely, the winner in Masters Pre-66 Touring Cars was also settled in Portugal, though neither of the two drivers leading the title race were present! Julian Thomas, who had campaigned his Ford Falcon with Calum Lockie on previous occasions, could pip both Sam Tordoff and Richard Dutton of them by winning the final round in a one-off driving Andy Wolfe’s Cortina. But, when the Cortina faltered early on in the race, Tordoff (Ford Falcon) was automatically crowned the winner, with last year’s champion Richard Dutton (Lotus Cortina) becoming this season’s runner-up.

Masters Pre-66 Touring Car

1st: Sam Tordoff (Ford Falcon)

2nd: Richard Dutton (Lotus Cortina)

3rd: Julian Thomas & Calum Lockie (Ford Falcon)

The 2022 Masters Champions and Winners all will be invited to the Masters Awards Party in Dublin on February 17, 2023, details to be released shortly.

For additional details on Masters Historics, click HERE.

More Vintage Motorsport