NASCAR reveals Hall of Fame Class of 2023 plus Landmark Award winner

NASCAR Hall of Fame

NASCAR reveals Hall of Fame Class of 2023 plus Landmark Award winner


NASCAR reveals Hall of Fame Class of 2023 plus Landmark Award winner


NASCAR’s Hall of Fame Class of 2023—the 13th class since the HoF’s inception in 2010—consists of Matt Kenseth, Kirk Shelmerdine and Hershel McGriff.

In addition, Mike Helton was named the recipient of the Landmark Award for outstanding contributions to NASCAR.

For the first time since 2019, members of the Voting Panel met in an in-person closed session at the Charlotte Convention Center to debate and narrow the list of 15 nominees for the Class of 2023 and the five nominees for the Landmark Award down to three and one respectively.

Ten nominees appeared on the Modern Era ballot, which was selected by the traditional Nominating Committee. The same committee selected the five Landmark Award nominees. The Pioneer ballot, which included five nominees whose careers began in 1963 or earlier, was selected by the Honors Committee.

Beginning with the Class of 2021, each Hall of Fame class features two inductees from the Modern Era ballot and one from the Pioneer ballot.

The Voting Panel includes representatives from NASCAR, the NASCAR Hall of Fame, track owners from major facilities and historic short tracks, media members, manufacturer representatives, competitors (drivers, owners, crew chiefs), recognized industry leaders, a nationwide fan vote conducted through and the last two NASCAR Cup Series champions (Chase Elliott and Kyle Larson). In all, 61 votes were cast, with two additional Voting Panel members recused from voting as potential nominees for induction (Jeff Burton and Ricky Rudd). The accounting firm of EY presided over the tabulation of the votes.

Kenseth received 69 percent of the Modern Era ballot votes, Shelmerdine received 52 percent. Harry Hyde finished third, followed by Neil Bonnett and Harry Gant. McGriff received 31 percent of the Pioneer ballot votes. A.J. Foyt finished second.

Results for the Fan Vote were: Foyt (Pioneer), Kenseth, and Harry Gant (Modern Era).

The two inductees came from a group of 10 nominees that included: Neil Bonnett, Tim Brewer, Burton, Carl Edwards, Harry Gant, Harry Hyde, Kenseth, Larry Phillips, Rudd and Shelmerdine.

Nominees for the Pioneer Ballot included: Sam Ard, A.J. Foyt, Banjo Matthews, McGriff, and Ralph Moody.

Nominees for the Landmark Award included Janet Guthrie, Alvin Hawkins, Mike Helton, Lesa France Kennedy, and Dr. Joseph Mattioli.

The Class of 2023 Induction Ceremony is set for Friday, Jan. 20, 2023 at the NASCAR Hall of Fame and Charlotte Convention Center in Charlotte, North Carolina. Tickets for the Induction Ceremony will be available later this month on

About the NASCAR Hall of Fame: Located in Uptown Charlotte, N.C., the 150,000-square-foot NASCAR Hall of Fame is an interactive entertainment attraction honoring the history and heritage of NASCAR. The high-tech venue, designed to educate and entertain race fans and non-fans alike, opened May 11, 2010, and includes artifacts, hands-on exhibits, a 278-person state-of-the-art theater, Hall of Honor, Buffalo Wild Wings restaurant, NASCAR Hall of Fame Gear Shop and NASCAR Productions-operated broadcast studio. The venue is open 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. seven days a week and has an attached parking garage on Brevard Street. The five-acre site also includes a privately developed 19-story office tower and 102,000 sq. ft. expansion to the Charlotte Convention Center, highlighted by a 40,000-square-foot ballroom. For more information, click HERE.

More Vintage Motorsport