Motorsports Hall of Fame Class of 2023 Announced in Long Beach


Motorsports Hall of Fame Class of 2023 Announced in Long Beach


Motorsports Hall of Fame Class of 2023 Announced in Long Beach


The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) announced its 2023 Induction Class Saturday during the Stand 21 Racing Goes Safer seminar at the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach. The landmark 35th Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Celebration presented by Toyota Racing, which will formally usher the Class of 2023’s nine members into the MSHFA, will be held in the Hall’s home of Daytona Beach, Florida, March 6-7, 2023.

The Class of 2023 includes the Father of the Corvette and Corvette racing Zora Arkus-Duntov (Sports Cars); longtime USAC official and safety pioneer Henry Banks (Historic); America’s most successful enduro racer, Dick Burleson (Motorcycles); air racing superstar Art Chester (Aviation); one of NASCAR’s most innovative crew chiefs, Ray Evernham (Stock Cars); early NASCAR fan favorite Fonty Flock (Historic); one of the NHRA’s 50 Greatest All-Time Drivers, Darrell Gwynn (Drag Racing); prolific land speed record-setter Ab Jenkins (Speed Records); and two men who revolutionized racetrack emergency services, saving countless lives and careers, Drs. Stephen Olvey and Terry Trammell (Open Wheel).

“Part of the reason we wanted to make the announcement at the Racing Goes Safer seminar is because several members of the Class of 2023 have played a major role in improving racing safety,” said MSHFA President George Levy. “Our thanks go to Stand 21’s Yves Morizot and the Racing Goes Safer Foundation for making that possible.”

Two of the inductees at the forefront of safety improvements are Drs. Olvey and Trammell.

“We are honored and thrilled to be included in the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America class of 2023,” Drs. Olvey and Trammell said jointly. “We want to thank the many who have supported us and those from whom we learned on our journey to make motorsports safer.”

The MSHFA Class of 2023 was unveiled in a press conference during the Racing Goes Safer seminar by Levy and 2015 MSHFA inductee and star road racer Tommy Kendall.

Each of the MSHFA’s inductees is elected by a straight vote of 200 motorsports experts—half of them inductees themselves. Regular voters include Mario Andretti (MSHFA Class of 1990), Chip Ganassi (Class of 2016), Don Garlits (Class of 1989), Tom D’Eath (Class of 2000), Scott Parker (Class of 2009), Richard Petty (Class of 1989), Don Prudhomme (Class of 1991), Rusty Wallace (Class of 2014) and many other titans of the sport.

The nine Class of 2023 honorees will be formally brought into the Hall on Tuesday, March 7, in the 35th Annual Induction Ceremony, the traditional black-tie gala that is the crowning event of the two-day, multi-function MSHFA Induction Celebration.

The Induction Ceremony, which was sold out for the Class of 2022 celebration, will be preceded on Monday, March 6 by the traditional “Heroes of Horsepower” reception and strolling dinner at the MSHFA Museum on the grounds of Daytona International Speedway. Firestone sponsored this year’s Heroes of Horsepower reception that was another sell out event.

Daytime events include the annual Heritage Luncheon on Monday and the annual Inductee Breakfast on Tuesday morning.

Current plans call for 2023’s Historic inductees to be ushered into the MSHFA as a featured highlight of the Tuesday morning breakfast, which was sponsored by American Honda this year.

Through last month’s Class of 2022 induction, 279 Heroes of Horsepower are currently in the MSHFA, a number that will grow to 288 with the 35th Induction Class.

For detailed biographies plus more information on the Motorsports Hall of Fame America, click HERE.

More Vintage Motorsport