SVRA Celebrates U.S. Vintage Racing National Championship at COTA

Photo: Pete Gorski / SVRA

The Sportscar Vintage Racing Association celebrated its many 2021 national champions at Circuit of The Americas on Sunday. Now an annual tradition, SVRA’s U.S. Vintage Racing National Championship has been held at COTA every fall since 2013. With Sunday’s races designated as the “Gold Helmet” races, the winning driver in each group was awarded with a limited-edition commemorative Bell Racing gold helmet.

“To be able to present our racers with a trophy like the Bell Racing gold helmet is such a big deal to me,” said Tony Parella, CEO of SVRA and parent-company Parella Motorsports Holding. “I was an SVRA competitor myself. I used to bring my Corvette out to have fun and race. A lot of vintage racing is about showing off the cars and celebrating their heritage, but as a racer, it sure is cool when you can do that and also win a unique trophy.

Photo: Joey Nielsen / SVRA

“The Gold Helmets are about more than just that race,” Parella continued “It’s about all the years, the time, the dedication that it takes to get to that point. We had over 400 cars here this weekend—over 300 with SVRA competing for the gold helmets. To be in a race with 40, 50 cars and know that you’re the one that won that helmet—that’s a big deal.”

Twenty-five helmets were awarded throughout the course of the weekend, starting with the Historic and Vintage Enduro races on Sunday morning. Lisa Hansen took the helmet for the Vintage Enduro driving her 1969 Porsche 911S, while Joel Quadracci took the gold helmet for the Historic Enduro in his 2013 Oreca 03.

Photo: Pete Gorski / SVRA

Other Bell Racing gold helmet winners were:

Group 1
Andrew McLean (1958 Austin Healey Bugeye Sprite), Vintage FP
McKenzie Wolff (1969 Formula Vee), FV
Hunter Barron (1969 Kellison Mac 1), FV1

Group 2
Matthew Brabham (1971 Brabham BT35-26), Formula B
Dan Cowdrey (1970 Titan MK6), Formula Ford
Glenn Taylor (1979 PRS), Club Ford

Group 4
John Nash (1962 Lotus Super Seven), Vintage CP
Stefan Schluter (1972 Porsche 914-4), Vintage DP

Group 5A
Jeremy Treadway (1986 Lola 86/90) – HELMET FEATURE RACE
Kevin Leparksy (2004 Carbir S2) – ENDURO

Group 6
Scott Borchetta (1969 Chevrolet Corvette), 6GT
Jim Sandberg (1969 Chevrolet Corvette), 6AP
Scott Holley (1963 Jaguar XKE), 6BP
Peter Dolan (1966 Ford Mustang GT350), 6TAS

Group 8
George F. Balbach (1966 Porsche 911), 8AP
Troy Ermish (1971 Datsun 510), 8BS Historic Sedan

Group 9
Justin Frick (1997 Lola 97/20), 9F1
John Norton (1998 Swift .008), 9F2
Stuart Crow (1992 Ralt RT40), 9F3

Group 10
Wally Dallenbach (2000 Ford Mustang Cobra)

Group 11
Joel Quadracci (2013 Oreca 03)

Group 12
Thor Johnson (1974 BMW Schnitzer 2800CSL), 12B
Drake Dittman (1991 BMW 318is), 12MP2

SVRA will close out its 2021 race season with the SoCal SpeedTour at Auto Club Speedway, November 19-21.

For more details on SVRA, including information on the 19 event weekends planned for 2022, click HERE.