Returning Winners, Debuting Contenders and Featured Marque Porsche Headline HSR Classic Daytona Entry

Returning Winners, Debuting Contenders and Featured Marque Porsche Headline HSR Classic Daytona Entry


Returning Winners, Debuting Contenders and Featured Marque Porsche Headline HSR Classic Daytona Entry


The entry list for the 2021 Historic Sportscar Racing Classic Daytona presented by IMSA shows a strong lineup of former race winners, debuting contenders and largest contingent of Stuttgart’s finest in support of Porsche as the official marque. The seventh annual running of the Classic 24 Hour race at Daytona International Speedway, October 27-31, features seven different Run Groups competing in succession for a full 24 hours on the iconic 3.56-mile coastal Florida road course.

The various period-correct classes within each Run Group combine to make just about any closed-wheel competition sports car built during the last 60 years eligible for the HSR Classic Daytona.

The full weekend of vintage and historic competition will also feature the HSR Daytona Historics, part of HSR’s series of season-long sprint and endurance racing championships.

The 2021 HSR Classic Daytona presented by IMSA entry list can be found by clicking HERE.

Photo: HSR

Headlining the entry:

Group A – 1962-1972: The oldest cars in the Classic 24, Group A includes legendary and early FIA-era prototype and GT machines including Lola T70s, Chevron B21a and a mix of 1960s and ’70s production-based Porsche 911s and 914s set for renewing the classic Porsche vs. Corvette GT battle with some big-bore ‘Vettes of the same era. An entry to keep an eye on is the quick GMT Racing 1972 No. 8 Chevron B21 (pictured) that John Delane drove to the Group A win in last December’s Classic Sebring 12 Hour.

Group B – 1973-1982: Hard to believe the newest cars in Group B are pushing 40 years old as these sports prototypes and turbocharged, wide-body GT cars still deliver maximum thrills. Once again, Chevron B26 and B36 models set are set for a sports prototype clash with a Lola T-294, while on the GT front, a pair of Porsche 935 tribute cars go up against an IMSA GTO Camaro, two BMW CSLs and several Porsche 911 RSR and IROC models. Two entries of note (pictured) include Alain Rüede’s No. 21 1982 Chevrolet Camaro IMSA GTO car fand Jack Lewis’ No. 9 1974 Porsche 911 RSR of Jack Lewis, the latter set to notch his 50th year of competition at Daytona, debuting there in 1971.

Photo: HSR

Group C – 1983-1993: Group C appropriately showcases the mighty Group C and GTP era of the mid-1980s and early ’90s. Gems on this year’s entry list include GTP Jaguar XJR-5 and XJR-16 entries, two iconic Porsche 962s plus mass of Porsche 944 Turbo and S models, many pulling double duty at Daytona competing in the Classic 24 and the weekend’s Inaugural HSR Street Stock Road Racing and RS/International Sedan Reunion. The headline bout (pictured at top), however, will be Angus Russell in his No. 15 1985 ex-Kremer Brothers/Leyton House Porsche 962C prepared by Amalfi Racing and the pristine purple ex-Wynn’s/Hotchkis Racing No. 10 1986 Porsche 962 of Joe Robillard and Robillard Racing.

Group D – 1994-2003: Sharing the track with Group C, competing entries in Group D include historic yet familiar prototypes and European and American-made GT cars. Group D is open to first-generation Daytona Prototypes and features some of the coolest production-based GT machines from the 1990s. Former winners returning to the Classic 24 include Forest Barber and Terry Borcheller in Barber’s 2003 No. 54 Doran JE4 Daytona Prototype and Sundry Racing 1995 No. 5 Oldsmobile Aurora GTS of Steve Cohen that broke through for the overall Group D win in 2018.

Photo: HSR

Group E – 2000-2018: This blue-chip Group lets ALMS and Le Mans prototypes not eligible to race at Daytona in their prime get a chance to compete on the 3.56-mile high-banked road course. The largest group in the Classic 24, Group E may also produce the biggest and fastest battle of the race. David Porter is shooting for his third straight Classic 24 Group E victory in his GMT Racing 2007 No. 7 Peugeot 908 HDi FAP (pictured) but faces a formidable challenge from Juan Gonzalez now owns and campaigns the race-winning ex-Rollcentre Racing 2007 No. 18 Pescarolo-Judd. The Peugeot and Pescarolo will compete against a Lola B12/80 and a packed field of modern GT cars recently retired from contemporary competition. Among the GT notables,the Speed Works 2016 No. 71 Lamborghini Huracan Evo IMSA Super Trofeo series car of Greg Griffin (pictured). The IMSA Lamborghini series does not compete at Daytona, so Griffin will be the first to give this Huracan EVO version some competitive laps on the DIS road course.

Group F – 2000-2018: Group F showcases modern Prototype and GT race cars just a few years removed from their contemporary competition prime. The division is home to the popular Oreca FLM09 Le Mans Prototype Challenge “PC” cars and Gen 2 and Gen 3 Daytona Prototypes “DP” cars no longer eligible for current IMSA competition. William Hubbell, Robert Tornello and JC France should be among the pacesetters in their Corvette Daytona Prototypes, but the trio could be challenged by the 2010 No. 54 Oreca FLM09 PC entry of Chris Ronson. A GT standout is the returning Doran Racing 2005 Ford GT Mk7 for Brad Jaeger, who co-drove to a B.R.M. Endurance Challenge GTM victory in the Ford GT last year in the Daytona Historics.

Photo: HSR

Group G – HSR Cars: Group G is home to HSR classes not represented in the other groups. Offering a mix of primarily production cars from six different decades of competition, Group G includes many of the same teams and race cars that compete in HSR’s Vintage GT and Historic GT groups and the HSR Classic RS Cup and HSR Stoner Car Care Global GT series. Porsche models from all generations make up the majority of the entries, but several BMWs and Camaros will battle with a Lotus Exige, a “1965” Cobra Challenge replica racer and even a trio of Volkswagen GTI and Audi RS3 front-wheel drive TCR touring cars. Among the returning entries is 2019 Group G winning co-driver Todd Napieralski and his 2016 No. 39 Chevrolet Camaro SS.

A competitor test day on Wednesday, Oct. 27, will kick off the 2021 HSR Classic Daytona. The full-day test sets the stage for the following four days of official competition, which culminates with the classic 24-hour race from Saturday, Oct. 30, at 1 p.m. EDT, straight through to the final checkered flag 24 hours later on Halloween Sunday.

Information on the 2021 HSR Classic Daytona and the accompanying HSR Daytona Historics, including the event schedule and much more, can be found by clicking HERE.

For ticket information, click HERE.

More Vintage Motorsport