MSHFA Reveals HoF Class of 2022

MSHFA Reveals HoF Class of 2022


MSHFA Reveals HoF Class of 2022


Photo: MSHFA

Indianapolis, IN — Eight legends from the world of motorsports were named to the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) as the 34th class was unveiled last Friday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. A ninth inductee, in the Historic Category, will be announced later this month.

The Class of 2022 includes:

— Peter Brock, the designer of the 1965 World Champion Cobra Daytona Coupes
— Helio Castroneves, the first foreign-born four-time Indianapolis 500 winner
— Dick LaHaie, the only person in history to win NHRA Top Fuel championships as a driver and crew chief
— Banjo Matthews, NASCAR builder known as “The Henry Ford of race cars”
— Denise McCluggage, the only woman to receive the Ken W. Purdy Award for Excellence in Automotive Journalism
— Raymond Parks, NASCAR cofounder and championship-winning team owner
— Jack Roush, “The Cat in the Hat” who has masterminded more than 300 NASCAR wins
— Terry Vance & Byron Hines, motorcycle racing innovators who have won NHRA drag racing titles, AMA Supersport and Superbike titles, plus two Daytona 200s

“Like so many legends before them, the Class of 2022 has left an indelible impression on the sport,” said MSHFA President Levy. “We can’t wait to welcome them into the Hall of Fame next March at our home on the grounds of Daytona International Speedway.”

This year’s Hall of Fame celebration will honor both the Class of 2020 and the Class of 2021 in a dual ceremony during the Sept. 27-29 American Speed Festival.

More Vintage Motorsport