IMRRC Taps St. James for Argetsinger Award

IMRRC Taps St. James for Argetsinger Award


IMRRC Taps St. James for Argetsinger Award


Photo: IndyCar

Watkins Glen, NY – The International Motor Racing Research Center will honor motorsports pioneer Lyn St. James as the seventh recipient of its highest honor, the Cameron R. Argetsinger Award for Outstanding Contributions to Motorsports.

After a hiatus in 2020, the award will be presented at a Sept. 11 event at the Jack Daniel’s Club at Watkins Glen International. Broadcast journalist Bob Varsha will emcee the ceremony.

Established to honor a person in the motorsports industry who is recognized universally for having advanced and improved the sport, the award memorializes Cameron R. Argetsinger, often referred to as the father of American road racing.

Previous awardees include Chip Ganassi, Richard Petty, Roger Penske, Mario Andretti, Jim France and the France family, and Bobby Rahal.

The International Motor Racing Research Center is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to collect, preserve and share the history of global motorsports.

More Vintage Motorsport