Castroneves Chairing Motorsports HoF Class of 2020 Induction

Castroneves Chairing Motorsports HoF Class of 2020 Induction


Castroneves Chairing Motorsports HoF Class of 2020 Induction


Photo: Motorsport Images

Daytona Beach, FL – When the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America hosts its first-ever dual induction ceremonies this year, it will be relying on Sunday’s Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves as one of two Honorary Chairs.

Castroneves was set for the role last year before the event was canceled; the Class of 2020 ceremony will take place Sept. 27 at M1 Concourse in Pontiac, Mich. Eight-time NHRA Top Fuel winner Leah Pruett is the Honorary Chair for the Class of 2021 induction ceremony on Sept. 29.

“It is a huge honor to be asked to be the Honorary Chairperson,” Castroneves said. “When you look through the names in this prestigious group, it is staggering to think of the combined talent represented. There are many members of this hall that have had a huge impact on my career, none more so than Roger Penske (MSHFA Class of 1995), and I hope to join them in the Hall one day.”

After joining Team Penske in 2000 and tallying 30 career Indy car wins, 51 poles, 93 podiums and 167 top 10 finishes, Castroneves achieved success in recent years at the wheel of Acura Daytona Prototype International (DPi) cars in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship. He co-drove to the 2020 DPi season championship with Team Penske and was part of Wayne Taylor Racing’s victorious driver lineup in this year’s Rolex 24 At Daytona.

A Southern California native, Pruett got her start in the sport in the NHRA Jr. Drag Racing League at age eight and has been racing ever since. She celebrates her 25th consecutive season in the NHRA this year.

Both events are open to the public, but tickets are going fast and must be purchased in advance.

More Vintage Motorsport