Schumacher, Page Elected to IMS Hall of Fame

Schumacher, Page Elected to IMS Hall of Fame


Schumacher, Page Elected to IMS Hall of Fame




Indianapolis, IN — Seven-time Formula One World Champion Michael Schumacher and longtime Indianapolis 500 broadcaster Paul Page comprise the 2021 class of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame.


Schumacher and Page were elected to the IMS Hall of Fame by a voting panel of 150 motorsports journalists, officials and living Hall of Fame members, chosen from a total of 14 nominees representing the Speedway’s diverse history as host to the Indianapolis 500, Brickyard 400 and, from 2000-2007, F1’s United States Grand Prix at Indianapolis.

Schumacher and Page will be honored and officially inducted at the 2021 IMS Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Indianapolis 500 Oldtimers Dinner presented by Firestone on May 27 at the Downtown Indianapolis Marriott.

The 2020 IMS Hall of Fame inductees — legendary drivers Janet Guthrie and Dale Earnhardt — also will be honored at this year’s event.

Schumacher earned a record seven Formula One World Championships and last year was named the most influential person in the sport’s 70-year history, based on fan voting.

During the 2000s, Schumacher won five of the eight United States Grands Prix contested at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, including the inaugural race in 2000 and four in a row from 2003-2006. He finished second at the USGP in 2001-2002 and earned a total of four pole positions at Indianapolis.

Schumacher sustained head injuries in 2013 while skiing with his family. He continues to recover from the accident at his home in Switzerland.

Paul Page — the focus of the My Favorite Race feature in the March/April Vintage Motorsport — served as chief announcer on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Radio Network for 13 years, and as television host and play-by-play voice for Indianapolis 500 coverage on ABC Sports for an additional 16 years.

More Vintage Motorsport