Six Brumos Race Cars Will Make Laps at Rolex 24 at Daytona

This Daytona 24 Hour-winning 911 RSR will turn honorary laps with Daytona champion Hurley Haywood at the wheel. Photo: Brumos Collection

Jacksonville, FL – This weekend’s 59th annual Rolex 24 at Daytona will include honorary laps around the Daytona circuit by six historically significant #59 Brumos Racing cars, which will also be on display at Daytona International Speedway.

Photo: Brumos Collection
• 1971 914-6 GT IMSA Championship Winner, to be driven by Ray Shaffer
• 1975 911 RSR, which will be driven by legendary racer Hurley Haywood, who won the 24 Hours of Daytona in 1977
• 1979 935, the last race car driven by Peter Gregg; to be driven by Andrew Davis
• 2009 Daytona 24-winning Porsche Riley, to be driven by David Donohue
• 2011 Porsche 911 GT3 Cup Grand-Am Spec; the 2011 Grand-Am Championship winner will be driven by Leh Keen

• 2017 Porsche 911 RSR, to be driven by Earl Bamber

Brumos Collection Founder Dano Davis will serve as Honorary Starter of the iconic endurance race, set for 3:30 p.m. ET Jan. 30.

Photo: Brumos Collection

A lifelong motorsports enthusiast, Davis partnered with Bob Snodgrass to purchase Brumos in 1990. Their first order of business was to lead the team to three IMSA Bridgestone Supercar Championships from 1991 to 1993. Brumos returned to full-time racing in 2003, competing in the GRAND-AM Daytona Prototype class.

Ultimately, the team later secured 1st and 3rd-place finishes in the 2009 Rolex 24 at Daytona. Two years later, Brumos returned to its roots, competing in GT racing and winning the GT championship in its first attempt.