Lola, Chevron, Peugeot and Porsche Teams Prevail in HSR Classic Sebring 12 Hour

Lola, Chevron, Peugeot and Porsche Teams Prevail in HSR Classic Sebring 12 Hour


Lola, Chevron, Peugeot and Porsche Teams Prevail in HSR Classic Sebring 12 Hour


Sebring, FL — Iconic sports car racing marques Lola, Chevron, Peugeot and Porsche — raced in competition by top teams and drivers from around the world — emerged as winners after the weekend’s fourth annual Historic Sportscar Racing Classic Sebring 12 Hour at Sebring International Raceway.

Photo: HSR

A tribute race to the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring, which will be run for the 68th time in March 2020, the Classic Sebring 12 Hour featured four different Run Groups of vintage and historic sports cars that each took to the legendary Sebring road course four times on Dec. 7-8.

Saturday’s schedule included the first three 42-minute rounds while the fourth and final segments Sunday determined the overall winners.

Group A saw the McClendon International team produce its third-consecutive “HSR Classics” winner from its stable of classic and competitive Lolas.

Toni Seiler won both last month’s HSR Classic Daytona presented by IMSA and last year’s HSR Classic Sebring 12 Hour in a 1969 Lola T70, but it was a first-time winner and race car from McClendon that stepped up to score this weekend’s third-straight victory.

Debuting driver Marco Fumagalli swept the first three of Group A’s four race segments at the wheel of the McClendon 1970 Lola T165. Seiler rebounded from some early-round setbacks to win the fourth and final segment, but the gap Fumagalli had built on the field by that point was enough for the quick Italian driver to seal the overall Group A victory.

Photo: Patrick Tremblay (HSR)

The Group B victory went to the Phil Reilly Co. 1974 Chevron B26 of Gray Gregory and Randy Buck for the second straight year. Similar to Fumagalli’s winning performance, the Chevron swept the opening trio of Group B races but then gave way to the second-place 1982 Chevy Camaro IROC of Swiss driver Alain Rüede, who finished first in the fourth and final segment.

Although narrowly losing to the Chevron at Sebring for the second straight year, Rüede’s runner-up placing capped a strong 2019 performance in “HSR Classics” events. Last month, Rüede raced the Camaro to the overall Group B victory in the HSR Classic Daytona, presented by IMSA, classic 24-hour race.

Group C was a race-long battle between David Porter in his GMT Racing 2007 Peugeot 908 HDi FAP and Michel Frey in a 2008 Lola B07/18.

Frey crossed the line first in Saturday’s opening race before Porter stepped up to sweep the final three segments to win his second HSR Classic Sebring 12 Hour title. The victory gave Porter a sweep of this year’s “HSR Classics” races after winning his Group last month in the Classic Daytona, and returned the Peugeot to victory lane at Sebring. Porter’s 908 HDi was raced in its competitive prime to the overall 12 Hours of Sebring victory in 2011.

Home to more modern GT and sports cars, Group D again stepped up to deliver the closest battle of this year’s event. The Ebimotors 2012 Porsche 997 GT3 Cup of Gianluigi Candiani and Sabino de Castro was first in the opening three Group D segments and then withstood a late charge by the Zotz Racing 2010 Porsche 997 GT3 Cup of Chris Ruppel and Eric Zitza.

While the Zotz car finished first in segment four, the Group D victory went to Ebimotors after what appeared to be a relatively trouble-free and calculated race to the finish.

More Vintage Motorsport