British Sports Car Hall of Fame Selects Six Honorees for 2019

Petersburg, VA — The British Sports Car Hall of Fame recently announced the honorees for its 2019 Induction Class and also revealed that the Coventry Foundation will take over operation of the Hall of Fame by the end of 2019.

Photo: British Sports Car Hall of Fame

“Transferring control of the British Sports Car Hall of Fame to the Coventry Foundation will help ensure the continued success and health of this wonderful institution, which has done so much to thank and honor the people that made the British sports car hobby in America,” said current Executive Director John Nikas. Get the Cars Yeah podcast with Nikas, an author and lifelong British car enthusiast.

Photo: British Sports Car Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame, formed in 2016, selected its inductees through a combination of popular vote and the efforts of a Selections Committee. Honorees are chosen from seven categories — Automobile Clubs and Associations; Automobile Dealers and Distributors; Aftermarket Suppliers, Parts Manufacturers and the Service Industry; Executives, Engineers and Designers; Journalists and Historians; Competition and Racing; and Special Contributors and Pioneers.

  • Paul Newman: Winner of four SCCA National Championships, several championships for open wheel racing in the United States and class honors at the 1979 24 Hours of Le Mans.
  • Stanley “Wacky” Arnolt: The father of four collaborative efforts with Carrozzeria Bertone that resulted in the Arnolt-MG, Arnolt-Bristol, Arnolt-Aston and Arnolt-Bentley. Arnolt also sponsored works efforts at the 12 Hours of Sebring that took home the team prize in 1955, 1956 and 1960.
  • Charles Runyan: Founder of The Roadster Factory, which grew to be a leading supplier of aftermarket parts for MGs and Triumphs.
  • Sir Alec Issigonis: An engineering and packaging genius, he is best remembered for his postwar efforts with Morrism that resulted in the Minor and Mini.
  • Denise McCluggage: Winner of class honors at the 12 Hours of Sebring and Monte Carlo Rally; also founded the Competition Press, which became known as Autoweek; the first female to serve as publisher for a major American magazine.
  •  Tom Boscarino: Founder of the American MGC Register and also involved with the New England MG ‘T’ Register, NAMGBR and AMGBR.