Andrew Wait Earns Spirit of Monterey Award For Efforts With Formula Ford Group

Andrew Wait Earns Spirit of Monterey Award For Efforts With Formula Ford Group


Andrew Wait Earns Spirit of Monterey Award For Efforts With Formula Ford Group


Salinas, CA — The Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion historic races concluded Sunday with an awards ceremony after the last race. Get Rolex race results for Saturday and for Sunday.

WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca CEO Tim McGrane (left) and RMMR Grand Marshal Hurley Haywood (center) present the Spirit of Monterey Award to Andrew Wait. Photo: WRLS

In addition to on-track honors, a number of awards were presented Sunday afternoon to close out the event. The top special trophy, The Spirit of Monterey, was presented to Andrew Wait of Greenbrae, Calif. Wait drove his 1972 Lola T204 Formula Ford, was the Formula Ford Group steward and also worked tirelessly with the Formula Ford group over the past three years to have 56 FF competitors for the 2019 Reunion.

Other special awards:
• Best Paddock Display – Gregg Caban in the FF group, for his 1970s-era themed space housing his 1975 Konig Heath Nomad
• Stand 21 (most period-authentic entry) – Peter Mullin (owner) and Hans Hugenholtz (driver), 1950 Talbot T26
• Ken Miles Trophy (car under 1500cc) – Mark Osborne, 1959 Rejo Mk IV
• Gary Byrd Foundation (Pre-War) – Nigel Batchelor, 1928 Bentley Tourer 4.5 Litre
• Henry Ford Trophy (Ford-powered) – Todd Willing, 1972 Merlyn Mk 20A Formula Ford
• John Fitch Award (Corvette Excellence) – Jordan Taylor (driver) and Eric Rotrier (owner), 1976 Greenwood Corvette
• Phil Remington Award (Top Mechanic) – Jay Ivy of Portland, Ore.
• Peter Giddings Memorial Trophy – Dick Deluna, 1917 Hall-Scott Four-A-7A
• Bonhams Cup (select morning races):
Race 2B – Dave Hagan, 1960 Porsche Roadster
Race 4A – Chris Farrell, 1982 March 821 F1
Race 5A – Chandler Briscoe, 1973 BMW CSL
Race 6B – John McKenna, 1985 Mercury Capri
• Rolex Award for Excellence (determined by independent panel):
1A: Katrina Ky-Va-Lova, 1928 Bentley 4.5 Litre
2A: Michael Kaleel, 1962 Lola Mk I
3A: Jim Beatty, 1964 Ford Falcon
4A: Greg Thornton, 1982 Lotus JPS F1
5A: Zak Brown, 1981 Porsche 935
6A: Sandra McNeil, 1964 Porsche 904-11
7A: Parker Johnson, 1988 Spice GTP
1B: Rainer Becker, 1955 Porsche Spyder
2B: Ned Speiker, 1961 Ferrari 250 GT SWB
3B: Rick Dresang, AAARacers Eagle FF
4B: Alan Benjamin and Johna Dirickx, 1967 Porsche 911S
5B: Graham Adelman, 1976 Chevron B36
6B: Steve Schuler, 1986 Ford Roush Mustang
7B: Travis Engen, 2005 Audi R8 LMP

More Vintage Motorsport