Motorsports Hall of Fame Ceremony Fetes Seven Legends

Motorsports Hall of Fame Ceremony Fetes Seven Legends


Motorsports Hall of Fame Ceremony Fetes Seven Legends


Daytona Beach, FL — An accomplished group of past, present and future motorsports champions and legends gathered in Daytona Beach last week for two days of camaraderie that culminated with the 31st Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Ceremony presented by Firestone on March 12.

Peter Brock offered a moving tribute to MSHFA inductee Phil Remington. Photo: Morgan Motor Co.

The 2019 induction class included Augie Duesenberg (Historic), three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Dario Franchitti (Open Wheel), engineering genius Phil Remington (Sports Cars), motorcycle road racing world champion Kevin Schwantz (Motorcycles), championship-winning driver/owners Don Schumacher (Drag Racing) and Tony Stewart (Stock Cars) and iconic motorsports ambassador Linda Vaughn (At Large).

Seven-time Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Champion Jimmie Johnson, Indianapolis 500 winner and multiple IndyCar Champion Scott Dixon, and NHRA Champions Don “The Snake” Prudhomme (MSHFA Class of 1991) and “Fast Jack” Beckman introduced Stewart, Franchitti, Vaughn and Schumacher for induction.
Mel Harris, former President of Suzuki America, handled Schwantz’ induction while posthumous hall of famer inductees Duesenberg and Remington were presented by Indianapolis Motor Speedway President Doug Boles; and automotive designer, author and photojournalist Peter Brock, respectively.

More Vintage Motorsport