Concours of America Results

Concours of America Results


Concours of America Results


Plymouth, MI — This year’s two Best in Show winners at the Concours d’Elegance of America at St. Johns were both previous award winners at the Pebble Beach Concours.

Joseph and Marge Cassini with their beautiful Stutz DV-32. Photo: Concours of America 

Joseph and Margie Cassini’s 1932 Stutz DV-32 Convertible Victoria claimed top honors in the American category while Jim Patterson’s 1924 Isotta-Fraschini Tipo 8A won in the foreign category.

The LeBaron-bodied Stutz spent the better part of three decades in South America, returning to the United States in the 1960s. When acquired by the Cassinis in 2010, the car was past due for a comprehensive restoration, and the work was entrusted to RM Restorations. Exhibited at the 2016 Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance, the Stutz earned first place in the American Classic Open category before being picked as one of three finalists for Best in Show.

The 1924 Isotta-Fraschini Tipo 8A was also a recent restoration by RM, and went on to earn Best in Show at Pebble Beach in 2015 after taking first place in the European Classic Early category. Purchased by Jim Patterson for the Patterson Collection in 2014, the Tipo 8A originally had a different coachbuilt body until 1931 when the Carrosserie Worblaufen, F. Ramseier & Company constructed the car’s current sport cabriolet body.

Other key winners category winners included the 1973 Porsche 917/30 owned by Rob Kaufman, which earned the Spirit of the Automobilist — The Otto Rosenbusch Memorial Award; the 1928 Studebaker Commander Roadster owned by the Studebaker National Museum, which earned the This Car Matters: FIVA Award; the 1938 Packard 1605 hard top sedan owned by the Marano Collection, which earned the Most Significant Classic Car – The Don Summer Award; the 1930 Cadillac 452 convertible sedan owned by John D. Groendyke, which earned the Designer’s Choice Award — David R. Holls Memorial; the 1914 Rolls-Royce Silver Ghost torpedo phaeton owned by Doug Magee, Jr., which earned the Chairman’s Award; and the 1947 Bentley Mk VI coupe owned by William Johnston and Ron Elenbaas, which earned the Most Elegant Car Award.

Get complete results and photos.

More Vintage Motorsport