SVRA Crowns 2020 Champions

Southlake, TX — Sportscar Vintage Racing Association announced its 2020 Sprint Series, Enduro Series and Miata Heritage Cup champions Tuesday (Dec. 21). SVRA would typically also announce the winners of the 2020 Driver of the Year, 2020 Mechanic of the Year, and the Spirit of SVRA awards at this time, but has decided to hold those announcements until vintage racing community gatherings are allowed again.

More than 2,400 racers participated in SVRA’s eight event weekends in 2020. Photo: Scott Paceley

With an unprecedented year of travel restrictions and safety regulations, SVRA adapted its schedule to successfully host eight event weekends across the country, each offering two feature races for every race group. Hosting events at Auto Club Speedway, Roebling Road Raceway, Sebring International Raceway, Road America, Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Virginia International Raceway, Circuit of The Americas and Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta, SVRA offered competitors the opportunity to race their vintage race cars from coast to coast.

“I want to congratulate all of this season’s champions,” said Tony Parella, CEO of SVRA. “I’m thankful that we were able to have eight full events during such a challenging time, and that we had the support of our racers, staff and partners to make it such a successful year. Honestly, anyone who joined us to race during these uncertain times is a champion in my eyes. Despite the pandemic, we were able to put together a season of safe, socially distant, competitive racing. It’s an exciting time to be a part of vintage racing and I can’t wait to see what next year holds.”

With over 2,400 racers taking the green flag this season, it all came down to points for the winners of the Sprint Series Championships. To compete for the championship, drivers were required to race in a minimum of three events and complete at least 50% of the race’s total laps. Points were awarded to first through 10th place in every race that included at least three drivers per class.

Overall Sprint Series Champions

• Scott Fraser, Group 1
• Skott Burkland, Group 8
• Scott Borchetta, Group 6A

Sprint Series Group Champions

Group 1:  Scott Fraser, 1958 Austin Healey Sprite
Group 2:  Eric Inkrott, 1979 Crossle Formula Ford 35F
Group 3:  John Nash, 1962 Lotus Super Seven
Group 5:  Brent Knoll, 1983 Tiga SC83
Group 6A:  Scott Borchetta, 1972 Chevrolet Corvette
Group 6B:  Gary Moore, 1968 Mercury Cougar
Group 7:  James Farley, 1978 Lola 298
Group 8:  Skott Burkland, 1969 Porsche 911
Group 9:  James Johnston, 2004 Swift O14 Atlantic
Group 10:  Bruce Raymond, 1985 Pontiac Firebird
Group 11:  Travis Engen, 2005 Audi R8 LMP
Group 12A:  Jerry Robinson, 2010 Dodge Viper

Group 12B:  Ron Pawley, 2004 Lexus IS300

The SVRA Endurance Series also crowned its champions after hosting events at Sebring, Road America, Mid-Ohio, VIR, COTA and Road Atlanta. Championship contenders were required to compete in a minimum of three events, with points awarded to the first 10 competitors completing a minimum of 50% of the laps.

Overall Endurance Series Champions
• Skott Burkland, Group 8, 1969 Porsche 911
• Jerry Robinson/Bobby Archer, Group 12A, 2010 Dodge Viper

• Doug Radix, Group 1, 1955 Mercedes-Benz 190 SL

The other Endurance Series Group Champion was Scott Borchetta from Group 6B, driving his 1969 Chevrolet Corvette.

The Miata Heritage Cup joined SVRA for events at Roebling Road, Road America, Mid-Ohio, VIR and Road Atlanta. Champions are:

• Anthony Fornetti, NA Class, 1990 Mazda Miata
• Michael Bond, NB Class, 1999 Mazda Miata